Awards 2025

Scientific awards at the Lund Spring Symposium 2025

To be announced

The Award for Special Achievement

The Award for Special Achievement is given to Professor Craig Crews, Yale University, for his work on the use of targeted protein degradation has resulted in the development of the first PROTAC-drug candidates, ARV-110 and ARV-471, to treat cancer.

The Bengt Samuelsson Award

The Bengt Samuelsson Award is given to Professor Brian Kobilka, Stanford University, for his work with the structure and activity of G-protein coupled receptors (GPCR’s), in particular the determination of the β2-adrenergic receptor.

The Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award is given to Professor Robert Langer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, for his multifaceted contributions to medicine and biotechnology. Among them, controlled release system and transdermal delivery systems, and tissue engineering in regenerative medicine.

The Sune Bergström Award

The Sune Bergström Award is given to Professor Jude Samulski, University of North Carolina, for his pioneering work in gene therapy and adeno-associated virus vectors in the field of pharmacology and molecular virology.

The Arvid Carlsson Award

The Arvid Carlsson Award is given to Professor Sarah Tabrizi, University College London, for her work on mechanisms of cellular neurodegeneration. Especially Huntington’s disease, its mechanistic pathobiology, biomarkers, and novel therapeutics.

The Therapeutic Achievement Award

The Therapeutic Achievement Award is given to Professor Drew Weissman, University of Pennsylvania; for his contributions to RNA biology. His work was instrumental for the development of effective RNA-vaccines, the most well-known are those for treatment of COVID-19.

In memory

In the memory of three Swedish Nobel laureates in medicine or psychology who made great contributions in areas in focus for this symposium.

Sune Bergström and Bengt Samuelsson together with John Vane were awarded with the Nobel prize in Physiology or Medicine 1982 “for their discoveries concerning prostaglandins and related biologically active substances”.

Arvid Carlsson together with Paul Greengard and Eric Kandel were awarded with the Nobel prize in Physiology or Medicine 2000 ”for their discoveries concerning signal transduction in the nervous system”.